Have I Been Guilty of This?

My apologies for the late posting.  I had a different topic in mind, and then the inspiration for this article showed up in my Facebook newsfeed.

Earlier today, a member of my family shared a blog written by Matt Walsh. I’d never come across one of his blog posts before (I must have been living under a rock or something) and wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I clicked the link. What I read left me pleasantly surprised, even if it did make me ask some hard questions of myself.

The link to the article:  Your husband doesn’t have to earn your respect.

If you haven’t read it, please do check it out!

The very basic summary of his article is that our husbands do not have to earn our respect. They should not have to earn something that they outright deserve, and I have to say, I’m in complete agreement.

But…(there’s always a but isn’t there?)

After I finished reading the article, I couldn’t help but ask myself if I have ever been guilty of some of the things he mentioned? How many times have I rolled my eyes at my husband? Called him a name, even in jest? How often have I nagged, belittled or ignored him? Worse yet, how often have I done these things in front of our children? Have I ever, in our almost 15 years of marriage, made him feel that he does not have my full respect and admiration?

Hard questions, to be sure, and if I am completely honest with myself, then the answer is going to be yes. The obvious next question is:  What am I modeling for my children?

I want my sons to grow up to marry women that will love them and treat them with respect, not women who will emasculate them and treat them like buffoons.  I want my daughter to marry a man that loves and respects her, a man she loves and respects in return. For that to happen, my husband and I must show them what that looks like. Where else are they going to learn? They certainly won’t learn what it looks like from television, where men are most portrayed as cheaters, womanizers, abusers and/or idiots.

Even more important than the lessons we model for our children are these men that we have chosen to commit our lives to. I chose this man that God put into my path, and I thank Him every day for my husband. I was at a very low point when I met my husband, and I believe with all of my heart that he saved my life. It has been a joke between us that he is my knight in tarnished armor.

Why would I ever want to treat him with anything but respect?

 

 

This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have I Been Guilty of This?

  1. I think my dear friend, that we are all guilty of this. You are absolutely correct that the sitcoms today portray men as stupid and incapable of doing anything right. It is never too late to start setting the right example for our children!

    Like

Leave a Reply

