Strange Bedfellows

I never thought I would come out in defense of Kim Kardashian. In fact, the whole Kardashian family is barely on my radar, aside from the occasional romp through my news feed. I’ve never been bothered by the fact that I’m just not keeping up with the Kardashians, and I’ve never had any aspirations to do so. The subject of her recent photo spread in some magazine I’d never heard of was just a snippet overheard before I got to the fast-forward button on my remote while watching television for a few days. In fact, I never even actually saw the pictures.

Until…

A picture of Madea with some witty caption added to it showed up on my Facebook news feed Thursday morning. It sparked my curiosity. What was all the fuss about anyway? So, I did a quick Google search. (I’m a black belt in Google Fu, in case you were wondering.  You weren’t?  Okay.) It didn’t take long for me to get to the bottom of things. (See what I did there?)

As if the pictures weren’t enough, I had to go completely down the rabbit hole. I started reading comments. The things I read were enough to make the proverbial sailor blush. It was horrible. Kim Kardashian was being bashed for being a mom and posing for these scandalous pictures.  (Come on, internet, is anything really scandalous anymore?  Really?) But that wasn’t the last I was to see or read of Kim Kardashian and her infamous photo spread that day. Nope. A well-intentioned friend on Facebook posed the question about whether or not moms should even pose for nude pictures or put themselves out there like that. What followed were comments that quite literally broke my heart and made me angry.

Women were saying some of the most vile and hateful things about another woman. I know, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised by this. I suppose I’m really not, but still.  It’s the principle of it. I couldn’t even really answer the question at that moment, so I’ll answer it more fully now.

Do I think moms should pose for nude pictures and put themselves out there and willingly objectify themselves and their sexuality?

Maybe. Maybe not. It’s not really my decision if another woman with children does these things, now is it? It’s not for me. Any pictures taken of me will be taken by my husband solely for his enjoyment and stored on a device that has no continuous connection to the internet. (Nope, no cloud storage for those mythical pictures of me. Nosiree.)

I guess the more accurate question would be something like this:  Does the idea of a mom posing for a raunchy nude photo bother me?

No.  It doesn’t bother me. What bothers me about this whole things is NOT that she posed nude, or that she is a mother, or that her ass is so big and plastered all over the interwebz. What bothers me the most is all of the hateful things that have been said.

What bothers me is the hypocrisy.

She has been insulted and shamed seven ways from Sunday. She’s been shamed because she’s a mom and posed for a tacky nude cover of a magazine. She’s been shamed because of the shape of her body, most specifically, her ass. She’s been called every name in the book. Every. Name. In. The. Book. Some of the most hateful, vile things have been said about the woman in response to this photo spread. What’s worse, is that these things happened on blog sites that supposedly promote empowering women to encourage and support each other, rather than tearing each other down. It happened on a website for blogs dedicated to moms, a site where I have read some of the most uplifting and encouraging articles about being a mom, a wife, a woman.

It got me wondering what she did to deserve what boils down to cyber-bullying.

I suppose that by putting herself out there the way she has, over and over again, she’s opened herself up to this kind of thing. Do people think that because she’s famous for no good reason, she deserves what she gets? (I couldn’t tell you why Kim Kardashian is so famous, and really, I don’t care.) Pffft, there are a lot of people out there that are famous for no good reason.

Maybe if she were an actress or a singer, then this wouldn’t be happening. Wait, no, that’s not quite accurate either. I seem to recall reading something about Jennifer Lawrence and Taylor Swift being body shamed because of their respective sizes.

So, there goes that theory.

I guess I’ll never really know why, and I suppose it doesn’t really matter. I do wonder about something else, though…

I wonder what would happen if, for one 24-hour period, there were no insults or hateful comments on the internet? What if, for one day, people remembered the old adage Thumper’s mama made him recite:

If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.

Now that would truly break the internet.

 

 

This entry was posted in Children, Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

