The Cost of Procrastination

We put off repairs to the van for what seems like stupid reasons now. The decision to wait on getting one thing or another checked out and repaired was the best we could make at the time.There was always something more important that needed our attention. You know; rent, electricity, food…

The point is, we put off repairs to the van to the point where we could not ignore them anymore. Now, it’s costing us a few thousand dollars (at least) in order to make sure that our van runs well and is a safe form of transportation for our precious cargo. My husband and I debated back and forth about the wisdom of investing so much money into this run down van or just trading it in and getting something new. We decided it was better not to take on a car payment and just get the extensive repairs and maintenance work done on the van, while saving money to buy a second vehicle within the next year. In the end, our hope is that we’ll get at least five to ten good years of use out of the van. And we will, as long as we don’t slip back into procrastinating on repairs and maintenance work in the future.

All of this got me to thinking. What other areas of life have I procrastinated taking charge of, and just what is it going to cost me if I continue to do so? How many times have I said the following things to myself:

I didn’t sleep well last night, we’ll go to church next week.

I don’t feel like lugging all that laundry to the laundry mat, I’ll do it tomorrow.

I’ll stop smoking/give up soda at the start of the week/month/year.

I’ll start exercising tomorrow/next week.

I’ll go to the doctor for a check-up next week/month/year…when I’ve lost 50 lbs and there’s progress made from the last time I went.

There’s always tomorrow…

The number of times I’ve said these things, and much more, to myself is innumerable. Recently, I’ve started to feel like time is catching up with me. I just turned 38 in January, and frankly, I do not feel like I should be this close to 40 years old! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that turning 40 is a bad thing, it’s just…how did this happen?!

What was I doing while time was passing by?

I have accomplished and overcome a great deal in my life, with strength from God and the support and encouragement of dear family and friends. And yet, there is still so much more that I want to accomplish and do. It’s time to stop procrastinating and start putting my spiritual walk and my health (among a few other very important things) at the top of my priority list.

So, for now, I’m going to devote one or two blog posts a month to these areas of my life that I feel need the most work. I look forward to going on this adventure with y’all!

This entry was posted in Christianity, Health & Fitness, Housekeeping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

